Spring Cleaning: Spiritual Health Check

Do you want to know what scripture I include in every prayer I make to the Lord?  Psalm 51:10 Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me”. In my belief, I cannot ask God to work on my behalf without working on me. The bible teaches us that when the Lord makes his return that He is coming back for a church without a spot, blemish, or wrinkle. That church lies within your heart. The heart is where we keep our emotions, both good and bad, and helps us make decisions. Our hearts are not always as trustworthy as we would like them to be and they need maintenance. This is where our prayers come into play.

For me, asking God to clean my hearts helps me release grudges and hard feelings that I may hold for other people. I am not confrontational (by nature) so I harbor everything that I go through in my heart. One of the reasons why this scripture is so important to me is because it is my way of saying, “Lord please bear this weight, because I know you have all of the knowledge, power, and strength that I lack at this time”.  Part of self-care is knowing what you can or cannot handle. A clean heart allows you to see things clearly and it’s easier for you to learn from previous mistakes.

c333d6yehi0-aaron-burden

photo by: Aaron Burden via unsplash: https://unsplash.com/@aaronburden

What does it mean to have a renewed spirit? It’s a plea to the Lord to keep me on the right path because sometimes my temper needs to be DELIVERT lol. Asking God to renew my spirit helps me to be more accepting of things that happen and people who are not necessarily my favorite to be around at that time. We all have to “reset” sometimes and I ask God to help me every single day because I never know what I may face!

Blackbirds, what scriptures inspire your prayers? Comment and let me know or tweet me! I would love to hear from you! Spiritual maturity is a huge part of self-care. I consider it the most important part of the process of getting back to your true self. Not everyone’s spirituality is cookie-cutter but it is vital and is the glue to keeping all of you …well…you! It’s not a matter of just belief but also maintenance. As we change and go through things we have to tap into our spiritual beings to keep us afloat. I know that’s what keeps me. Do not let your self-care journey be without a spiritual check-up! I promise it will be life-changing!

Happy Cleaning Blackbirds!

featured image: via unsplash https://unsplash.com/@samanthasophia

 

Leave a Reply

