What About Your Friends?

My health has been pretty topsy-turvy lately and I have felt more defeated than ever. Swimming in a sea of medicine, sleeplessness, and crankiness, I can imagine that I have not been the most pleasant person to be around or talk to lately. This ordeal it has made me even more thankful for the love and support that I have in my life. My friends and family are EVERYTHING.

Although I am separated from most of the people I care about, I cherish them. I love them very much and I pray for their well-being and success. That’s what friends do for one another. I think we could all learn a lesson or two about being better friends to the people we care about. Nothing is promised, but what we can do is make sure that we treat everyone right. It starts with how we treat those around us. Our friends share our laughs and our pain. Our friends see themselves in us and strive to help us do better and be better. Our friends are not always friendly in that they do not mind telling us the truth when we need to hear it. I have all of those and for that I am more than grateful and blessed. I do not take true friendship for granted.

The success of my friends makes me genuinely happy. My friends are authors, future doctoral degree recipients, teachers, nurses, future lawyers, therapists and they all make me proud. I am not exaggerating, my friends are BAD!

m9jrkdxoqou-harli-marten.jpg

John 15:13 reads, “Greater love has no one than this; that one lay down his life for his friends”. The love is real! I encourage you to clean out toxic relationships in your life. If someone is not cherishing you or helping you grow there is no law binding you to that person. So often we hold on to things we know are unhealthy because we are too comfortable, scared of being without that person, or do not believe we will receive anything better in return.

I encourage you to cling to Jesus. He will be closer than a brother and loves you unconditionally. Although my friends are great, He is the one I cannot imagine living life without. He set the precedence for the type of friends I keep company with. Evaluate yourself and evaluate your circle. You are never too old to outgrow people.

Peace and Blessings Blackbirds,

Leave a Reply

