I Will Not Be Intimidated By My Bucket List

As a twenty-something woman with no children and no restraints, I often get advice that encourages me not to take myself seriously. I honestly have no idea what that means but I understand it to be, “find balance, and find yourself”. I get the concept but in my life it is not executed that often or that well. I am either extremely focused or have my attention on the wrong things. I was a full-time student working two jobs at one point. I had no idea what fun even meant! I have learned to let go and do things that I love and make me happy.

I have also learned the importance of experience. For me, going to different places, trying new foods, dancing for hours, and meeting new people are perfect ways to find balance. My goal is to see the world and experience all that life has to offer. God willing I am going to try my hardest not to be intimidated by my own bucket list. We limit ourselves and we let other people limit our potential. It took a while for me to learn this lesson but now I finally understand the meaning of MY life. I planned a short getaway with friends to New Orleans for a Beyoncé concert (she is my fave by the way). The food, the laughs, and the beauty of the city is what will make this trip a lasting memory. I barely got any sleep but came back renewed and refreshed and craving more weekends like this. More priceless moments with friends that I can think on when I’m feeling overwhelmed.

In sharing that story I want to reiterate there is no beauty in what we have but what we do with what we have. Ecclesiastes 8:15 states, “So I commend the enjoyment of life, because there is nothing better for a person under the sun than to eat and drink and be glad. The joy will accompany them in their toil all the days of the life God has given them under the sun” (NIV). It does not take a lot of money and it does not take a lot of time to enjoy life. You can sit outside for a few minutes or travel to Johannesburg. Find your inner peace and enjoy it. I know I am making it my mission and priority to do so.

One thought on “I Will Not Be Intimidated By My Bucket List

Leave a Reply

